Meet the Author – Sandy Brehl

Meet the author of award-winning middle-grade historical novels: Sandy Brehl, of Muskego, Wisconsin. Sandy Brehl lives in the Milwaukee, Wisconsin area and is the author of the Odin’s Promise trilogy, a historical novel series for readers ages ten-through-adult. The trilogy tells the story of local resistance during Norway’s World War II occupation years through the life of a young girl,… Read More

Odin’s Promise – Awards and Accolades

Odin’s Promise: A Novel of Norway, a middle-grade historical novel by Wisconsin author Sandy Brehl, has been gathering some lovely praise and awards. Recent accolades include: Best Girl-Empowering Books of 2014 (Ages 9–12) – A Mighty Girl Website. Ten Best Indie Middle-Grade Novels of 2014 – ForeWord Magazine . Finalist, Midwest Book Award (Children’s Fiction) – Midwest Independent Publishers Association (winners… Read More

Scandinavian Resistance in World War II – Novels for Middle-Grade Readers

Here are five recommended historical novels for young readers about Scandinavian resistance activities in World War II. All involve the children in the stories in key roles to stand up to Nazi German invaders, seeing the difficult choices and dangers through their youthful eyes. All of novels weave factual information about the German occupation, resistance efforts, and Nazi policies into… Read More

Milwaukee Book Launch Party for Odin’s Promise

The public is invited to a book-launch party Thursday, April 24, for Odin’s Promise: A Novel of Norway by Muskego author Sandy Brehl. The “beautifully-written, emotionally taut” middle-grade novel is a story of the first year of German occupation of Norway as seen through the eyes of a young girl, Mari, accompanied by her Norwegian elkhound, Odin. Where: Norway House…. Read More

Time of the Eagle – Kindle Edition Released

Crispin Books is pleased to announce release of Time of the Eagle: A Story of an Ojibwe Winter as a Kindle eBook. Time of the Eagle, by Stephanie Golightly Lowden, is a middle-grade historical novel about a winter survival trek by two young Native American (Ojibwe) siblings, a tale of courage and resourcefulness set in the fur-trade era of the… Read More

Odin’s Promise – Coming Soon

We have several books to announce for this spring. Coming soon: Odin’s Promise, by Sandy Brehl. It’s a delightful middle-grade historical novel, a story of a girl and an elkhound during World War II in a village in western Norway during the German occupation. Sandy is a teacher and an active member of SCBWI. She also a blogger about picture… Read More

Shadow Island: A Spooky Tale of Lake Superior – is now available for Kindle

Looking for a fun ghost book for girls? Shadow Island is now available for just $2.99 as a Kindle eBook (as well as in softcover & hardcover editions). It’s a fun humorous spooky novel, set on an island in Lake Superior. The story follows the adventures of three girls – Amanda, her friend Roxanne, and Amanda’s kid sister Sally –… Read More

Goliath Catfish Released into the Wild!

Don’t be alarmed. Goliath Catfish is the name of the latest book from Crickhollow (released under the Crispin Books imprint). It’s a historical novel set in the 1940s around (and under) Memphis, Tennessee. An action adventure novel (ideal for boys ages 11–15), the story involves two boys (one white, one black) who search for lost treasure in a watery underworld… Read More

Author of Jingo Fever To Appear at Sheboygan Children’s Book Fest

We’re pleased share news that Stephanie Golightly Lowden, author of Jingo Fever, and Time of the Eagle, two books for middle-grade readers set in the Upper Midwest, will be offering a writing workshop for kids at the Sheboygan Children’s Book Festival this October. Lowden joins a great group of award-winning authors & illustrators, including Paul O. Zelinsky, Lois Ehlert, Eric… Read More

Teachers & Librarians – Request A Free Ebook of Jingo Fever

For a limited time, Crickhollow Books is offering teachers & librarians a free eBook copy of Jingo Fever, a historical novel for middle-grade readers. Based on extensive research by the author, Stephanie Golightly Lowden, the story is set in the summer of 1918 in a small town in northern Wisconsin during World War I. In a quiet and thoughtful way,… Read More

Last updated by at .